An African Trilogy

An African Trilogy

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

During the 1970s and 1980s, Peter Matthiessen took part in a number of expeditions to Africa, witnessing first-hand the continenta€™s many and diverse peoples and wildlife. The fruits of these journeys are three of the most impressive essays on the natural world of the late twentieth century. The Tree where Man Was Born documents wild landscapes, peoples and animals, observed in a series of journeys in East Africa, from the Sudan, south through Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania, exploring the Serengeti, the Maasai Mara, the Ngorongoro crater and the archaeological sites of the Rift Valley. African Silences recounts two expeditions made to West and Central Africa, including Zaire (as it then was), Gabon and the Central African Republic. Sand Rivers describes the Selous game reserve in Southern Tanzania, one of the largest, but least-known refuges for animals left on earth, and provides an unforgettable portrait of this area and the fierce, lonely men who created it. These three classic works represent Matthiessen the naturalist at his finest; written an all-encompassing curiosity and knowledge that brings alive the people, places and wildlife he encounters, and updated with a new introduction by the author.Though loath to execute a household pet by bashing its brains out with my bucket , I was considering this last resort when it darted ... repair kit was ever at the ready a€“ Dr. Smith was back at the shower door with bandages and disinfectants. ... For the several months prior to our visit, Garambaa#39;s faithful guards and rangers had not been paid; they grew gardens by ... whereas in this northern savanna, with its mixed woodland, a single long rainy season produces and sustains a high, rank, anbsp;...

Title:An African Trilogy
Author:Peter Matthiessen
Publisher:Random House - 2012-05-31


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming