The Art of Music and Other Essays

The Art of Music and Other Essays

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

A Travers Chants is the collection of writings selected from his thirty-odd years of musical journalism. These essays cover a wide spectrum of intellectual inquiry: Beethoven's nine symphonies and his opera, Fidelio; Wagner and the partisans of the qMusic of the Futureq; Berlioz's idols - Gluck, Weber, and Mozart. There is an eloquent plea to stop the constant rise in concert pitch (an issue still discussed today), a serious piece on the place of music in church, and a humorous and imaginative account of musical customs in Alceste than to any other opera; it is music in good health without any evil passions, and which can bring neither ... that Mozart had the misfortune to write for the Queen of the Night in the Magic Flute and for Donna Anna in Don Giovanni.

Title:The Art of Music and Other Essays
Author:Hector Berlioz
Publisher:Indiana University Press - 1994


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming