The Bascombe Novels

The Bascombe Novels

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

This trilogy of brilliant novels - The Sportswriter, Independence Day, and The Lay of the Land - that charts the life and times of one of the most beloved and enduring characters in modern fiction. When we meet Frank Bascombe in The Sportswriter, his unguarded voice instantly wins us over and pulls us into a life that has been irrevocably changed by the loss of a marriage, a career, a child. We then follow Frank, ever brilliantly and hilariously observant, through Independence Day and The Lay of the Land, witnessing his fortune's rise and his family's fragmentation and reintegration. With finely honed prose and an eye that captures the most subtle nuances of the human condition in all its pathos, humour, beauty and strangeness, Richard Ford transforms Frank Bascombe's life into a riveting moving parable of life in America today.knows hea#39;s succumbed to the little leap into the normal limbo of life. That hea#39;s facing down the big ... They all keep the zany parent on a frugal budget so she cana#39;t ruin their retirements with her funny enthusiasms. Mikea#39;s a€œinteresting, a€ a minorityanbsp;...

Title:The Bascombe Novels
Author:Richard Ford
Publisher:A&C Black - 2012-10-11


You Must CONTINUE and create a free account to access unlimited downloads & streaming